Open Accessibility Menu

EJGH and MD Anderson Recognize Cancer Fighting Physicians

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:

On Wednesday, June 5, 2013, East Jefferson General Hospital, along with representatives from MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, hosted a ceremony in the EJGH atrium honoring those 43 EJGH physicians who have earned credentialed status as members of the MD Anderson Cancer Network.

Each of the certified physicians was recognized for their contributions to cancer care and received a certificate and lapel pin, signifying their credentialed status. To earn certified status, a physician must demonstrate excellence in their outcomes and a commitment to continuous improvement. Certified physicians then earn access to MD Anderson treatment pathways and conduct regular consulting sessions with colleagues at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Those in attendance were greeted with comments from Dr. Mark Peters, EJGH President and CEO, and Dr. Thomas Cosgriff, EJGH Medical Director of Oncology and Hematologist/Oncologist. The Keynote speaker was Dr. Helmuth Goepfert, Medical Director for MD Anderson Physicians Network, and Professor Emeritus for MD Anderson Cancer Center in the field of Head and Neck Surgery. The celebration also featured music by the First Community Antioch Baptist Church Choir led by Marva Joseph (watch the short performance video below).


The ceremony was also a celebration of the participation of East Jefferson General Hospital certified physicians in the MD Anderson Moon Shot Initiative which has a goal of eradicating three forms of cancer over the next ten years. EJGH is proud to be a part of the most significant endeavor in cancer research and treatment in our lifetime. In describing the effort to eliminate cancer, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center President, Dr. Ronald DePinho, said, “We’re no longer talking about it. We’re no longer thinking about it. We’re no longer promising it for the future. We’re doing it today.”

On behalf of East Jefferson General Hospital and MD Anderson Cancer Network, we would like to thank and congratulate the following EJGH doctors who are MD Anderson Cancer Network Certified Physicians:

Dr. Richard A. Airhart, Urology
Dr. Donald P. Bell, Urology
Dr. Patricia S. Braly, Gynecological Oncology
Dr. Laura A. Brinz, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Michael N. Brothers, Thoracic Surgery
Dr. Marcelo Blaya, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Janet A. Burroff, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Alfred J. Colfry Jr, Urology
Dr. Sean M. Collins, Urology
Dr. Richard L. Corales, Neurosurgery
Dr. Brian C. Creely, General Surgery
Dr. Thomas M. Cosgriff, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Raymond P. Decorte, General Surgery
Dr. Scott E. Delacroix, Urology
Dr. Tod C. Engelhardt, Thoracic Surgery
Dr. C. Edward Foti, General Surgery
Dr. Elbert H. Goodier III, Urology
Dr. Jeffrey F. Griffin, Colon and Rectal Surgery
Dr. Jayne Gurtler, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Richard M. Karlin, General Surgery
Dr. Walter E. Levy III, Urology
Dr. Eric D. Lonseth, Pain Medicine

Dr. I. Ricardo Martinez, PhD, Dermatology
Dr. Lesley A. Meng, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. William M. Meyers Jr, Gastroenterology
Dr. Paul D. Monsour, Radiation Oncology
Dr. Siddhartha Padmanabha, Radiation Oncology
Dr. Nicholas J. Persich, Gastroenterology
Dr. Ronald P. Rabin, Urology
Dr. Emmanuel P. Rivas III, Urology
Dr. Harry A. Roach, Thoracic Surgery
Dr. Everett G. Robert Jr, Neurosurgery
Dr. Angie R. Sassard, General Surgery
Dr. Robert F. Sharp Jr, Urology
Dr. David R. Silvers, Gastroenterology
Dr. Kenneth B. Smith, Pulmonology
Dr. Paul M. Spring, Otolaryngology
Dr. Najeeb M. Thomas, Neurosurgery
Dr. Joseph F. Uddo Jr, General Surgery
Dr. Robert W. Veith, Hematology-Oncology
Dr. Robert J. Velez, General Surgery
Dr. Roger A. Vitter, Prosthodontics
Dr. Rand M. Voorhies, Neurosurgery